Bradshaw Books is committed to promoting literature to people of all backgrounds. Established in 1985, for over two decades it has published the work of both established and emerging writers.

With the current track, spiral bands would begin to affect the area by Sunday afternoon. These bands can include isolated tornadoes. The rain will become heavier and steadier by Sunday evening and will last into Monday evening. Total rainfall amounts of over five inches are possible. Winds on Sunday afternoon will be 15 to 20 Miles per hour (mph), with gusts to 30. This will increase to 30 to 40 mph with gusts over 45 on Sunday night. On Monday, sustained winds of 45 to 55 mph, with gust up to or just over 65 mph are expected, and winds should gradually begin to subside Monday evening. Tides up to three feet above normal are also possible. More updates to come throughout the day Keep informed by following these sources: Locally the Tampa Bay Area replica omega seamaster National Weather Service, Storm Team 8, and ABC Action News Chief Meteorologist Denis Phillips; nationally stay informed with the National Hurricane Center, the AccuWeather Hurricane Center, and The Weather Channel. New advisories will be issued every three hours by the National Hurricane Center.


Cork Literary Review Poetry Manuscript Competition

2014 Winner

Madelaine Nerson Mac Namara won 2014 CLR Manuscript Competition.
Her book ‘The Riddle of Waterfalls’ will be published in October 2015.

”Such strength is in these poems. In a world dominated by masculinities of every kind, her poetic voice comes through; brave, beautiful and clear. France and Ireland, dance and intimacy, war and remembrance, these poems are a harvest.” – Thomas McCarthy

2013 Winner

Angela Carr is our 2013 winner with her collection ‘How to Lose Your Home and Save Your Life’. Her website is well worth a visit for a sneaky preview of this winner.

2012 Winner

Annette Skade won the Cork Literary Review Poetry Manuscript Competition. Her book ‘Thimblerig’ is published since July 2013 when it was launched by Ruth Padel in Bantry .

Annette Skade

2011 Winner

Cliona O’Connell’s winning collection, White Space was launched in Poetry Ireland on 23 February 2012. It was launched by Jean O’Brien, 2011 judge of the Cork Literary Review Poetry Manuscript Competition.

Jean O'Brien
Jean O’Brien, 2011 Judge Cliona O’Connell, 2011 Winner

“Cliona O’Connell is a new voice in poetry, a voice both subtle and familiar.  A great namer of things, a creator of prayerful descriptions in poems like ‘Late Snow,’ ‘Performer’ and ‘Ikea,’ she arrests the passing world with an unerring emotional attentiveness. Here is modern, relaxed versecraft, laden with feelings as deep as ‘Fado’ and wit as sharp as ‘Damselfly.’

-Thomas McCarthy

‘ the poet had something to say and found an interesting way to say it. A lot of the work, such as ‘Billy Collin’s Clothes’ and ‘Innocence’ have a very Muldoonish use and play with language, they are diverse and interesting. These poems use language well and are witty with some striking images.’

– Jean O’Brien

If you would like more information on the launch of White Space in Poetry Ireland, search for Tigh Filí on Facebook and check out the event page. If you would like to purchase a copy of Cliona’s collection, you can do so (after the launch) using our website, through or at Waterstones.

Keep an eye on Bradshaw Books for further updates.

Entry Form

Please click the link below to access the application form and guidelines for entry.

ENTRY FORM  and RULES for 2015 competition will be available soon.

CLR 2014 Rules


  • Poets will make an initial submission of 5-10 of their best poems.No more than 40 lines per page and no more than 10 pages in total.
  • Each poem must be typed on a separate sheet of A4 paper.
  • Entrant’s name must not appear on the text. Completed entry form should be sent on a separate sheet of paper and enclosed in a sealed envelope.
  • Entries must be accompanied by a €20.00 registration fee. (This fee covers the cost of reading and handling, judge’s fees, etc.) The fee may be paid through the Paypal system on the Bradshaw Books website (note: please quote payment reference number on the entry form). Alternatively, entrants may enclose a cheque or postal order with their submissions for the entry fee amount, made payable to Bradshaw Books.
  • Entries must arrive no later than 5.00p.m,  19th September 2014. In August a shortlist of poets will be announced. Shortlisted poets will then be contacted by the Competition to submit their full collection. Winner to be announced by November 2014.

Please note:


  • All work submitted should be previously unpublished as a full manuscript. However, individual poems may have been published in journals or have been entered into competitions, as long as the copyright is currently with the poet.
  • Manuscripts will only be returned if accompanied by a SAE.
  • The purpose of this competition is to publish a full collection of poetry by an emerging poet. In the event that the winning poet is not able to provide the competition with a complete collection, the runner-up will be awarded the prize of a first poetry collection publication.
  • Submissions which fail to meet these terms will not be forwarded for judging.
  • The poetry competition is open to poets of any nationality writing in English.
  • The judge’s decision is final.
  • Notification of receipt of entry will be sent by email.
  • Copyright of the poetry returns to the poet one year after publication of the collection. Copyright of the collection remains with Bradshaw Books.
  • No correspondence will be entered into once work has been submitted.
  • Poems cannot be altered or changed after they have been entered.
  • The winner’s collection will be published by Bradshaw Books in 2015.


Online submissions


  • Bradshaw Books is pleased to announce the facility of online submissions for this year’s competition
  • Online submissions need to be sent to
  • Poetry text should be attached to downloaded entry form, which will contain the Paypal number for entry fee payment.